Greetings everyone, I offer you a little link chronology of my doings of the past few months.  Now, this may seem like boasting, and that’s totally because it is, but it  is also the only way I can think to be able to offer my gratitude to the people here who’ve let me take part in their lives for a little bit. Also, the people who are a part of this that I’ve never met.  And as I get ready to move on, which is still up in the air as to when exactly I am finally going to Oregon, I look back at the majority of what I’ve done, which really isn’t a lot, I am happy with what I’ve been able to accomplish.

 http://earthfix.opb.org/land/article/tree-sitters-dont-buy-logging-designed-to-mimic-na/

http://www.nrtoday.com/news/9781437-113/blm-timber-jossie-sale

 

http://earthfix.opb.org/land/article/lawsuit-challenges-eco-friendly-timber-sale/

http://www.opb.org/news/article/conservation-groups-file-suit-to-halt-high-profile-timber-harvest-in-south-county/

Cascadia Forest Defenders Called “Terrorists” by Oregon Lawmaker

 

Of course, my story is just less than a third, ( and I’m still probably giving myself too much credit ) of the articles. My favorite is the next to last one, where it’s just lifted from the local Douglas County newspaper. There was a nice reporter, and a camera dude who unfortunately couldn’t climb up to the sit, but definitely was getting it. The article that she wrote seemed to put me in a good light, but I imagine that heavy editing boxed in all the shadows with it. 

 

I would like to have words with a man who is named “Freeman” because the irony in it does not escape me.  What I would like to do is sit him down, perhaps make some tea, or hot chocolate, whichever he preferred.  I would give him a teddy bear, and say, “Tim,  Timmy. . . Representative Freeman, if you insist. I understand that you are trying to make me an object of your demagoguery, but really, what the hell is an ‘Economic Terrorist’? It’s a bit of a nonsense term. I ain’t trying to terrorize your economy, use your economy to terrorize you, nor is my checking account terrifying in any way. I’ve never been terrified by money, and recently I’ve become far less terrified by the absence of it. Come, let us step out onto your environmental terrace to enjoy a beautiful sunset gleaming out those oranges and pinks through the lush forests that surround your office. What I am terrified of is the absence of food to eat and water to drink.  What I’m concerned with is that the people I’ve met may not be resilient enough to change with the changing weather. Well, I know quite a few of the people I’ve met will be alright.  But those that I only met briefly I worry about.

“It is my understanding that the rain and snow that recently shut down Eugene and Portland was not nearly enough to end Oregon’s drought. Snow Packs in the Rogue-Umpqua are at 22 percent normal. I see value in life, and the future of life.  But that’s really neither here nor there, BLM lands are national lands.  Which means that I am fully within my rights to protest something that’s happening on land that basically belongs to everyone.  I strongly urge you to follow the water.  Gas, Coal, Oil, Timber are all really lucrative if that’s what you care about, but it is all ultimately about the water.”

And then, I’d ask him what his fears were, and listen calmly, maybe comfort him a bit, stroke his hair maybe.  I mean, if he consented of course.  He just looks like a benevolent folksy guy doesn’t he? Maybe I’ll be able to meet him one day. Probably won’t, but anything is possible.

More updates whenever updates happen.

 

