When we last left our intrepid semi-writer-blogger-medic-walking-farming-talking Turtle he was in the back end of east Texas, where he now lives on the edge of rural and a college town.  And I can see the stories that stretch out before my mind. They don’t always end up coherent and a fair bit of them are horror stories, but at least it also lets me go on with the sappy ‘on the road’ type reminiscences ( ruminants depending upon your perspective ) that have been pent up over the past couple months.   So, because these long breaks are gonna happen, let’s do a recap.  

A year and a half ago, just after a very hard to remember Halloween, I walked away.  I walked away and through my choices everything seemed to work out.  It’s as if I accepted all the instabilities in my life, rotated them so that they were all lined up, and I dropped out, free.   Of course, me being me, used that freedom to learn things truly on my own with no base or experience other than the hackneyed forms before. My Occupation lasted for about 6 months.  With it, I travelled over 3000 miles in an attempt to be a bit of a spectacle, secular missionary although my belief in a higher power is very definite in its uncertainty and probable answers.  Just walking around talking to people giving them perspective on how we’ve chosen to govern ourselves and each other.   It also made me realize how close you can get to being around people, and then never wanting to see them again. And I don’t feel bitter or anything. I just know that there is a certain amount of time before I stop being useful in their presence. Or nice.  

Walkupy wasn’t always an angst-filled argument though, because there were the life long friends. And acquaintences, and husband, and those memorable moments with complete strangers, and picturesque scenes that glimmer in your mind, crushing weighty times of fear and panic some real some not, somber scenes that ring like deep church bells, and joy celebrating everyday that you are alive! [insert suitable picture, perhaps a rolling donkey] And even though I never said where I stood on the issue, if it’s likely that a thing exists, then it makes the most sense as much as it feels better, then dogs do have souls.  

Okay, sappiness over. Possibly. Mayday, actual mayday, because technically we walked in on the day before the General Strike. (Btw, let’s do better this year and every year to come because I’m seriously starting to worry about you greatest country in the G-d fearing world.)  [Seriously, schedule it off that makes you feel better, or call in sick, if they fire you for something like that then it’s fairly obvious you can find employment elseware. Especially since it’s likely that someone else has been fired for much the same reason. If everyone just does a tiny rebellion, then that’s what over two hundred million rebellions? ( Although, I am a bit inexperienced with the world, passports and visas were always way outta my fiscal reach. ) ]  

Mayday, NATO, Street Medicing, quite a few new facets of my identity were forged in May of last year. June and July blurred a bit as I exhaled and tried to come to grips with the proximity I was to trauma. I also studied more about interests that were sparked by medicing, and made it maybe a little more than halfway through Fallout. I had a cyborg dog with a transparent brain casing that I got from an Elvis Impersonater Crime Boss. What a great game.  

Somewhere around July I resumed my travels and hitch-hiked for the first time back to my homestate of PA. It was touch and go for a little while, and I thought I would never make it out of Cleveland.  This is where Ibounced around from place to place doing various activisty things as well as just travelling and visiting friends.  A quick list if I remember the sequence right: Allegheny National Forest, to Lexington, to Cincinatti, Harrisburg, Tampa, Charlotte, Athens and then Texas.  

The Tarsands Blockade was a great place for me to reinforce the skills I had learned in the climbing camp, it also was a great way to really see  how much I dislike interacting with people.  I spent a good three or four months with them and I hope I did at least an ok amount of work. My reasons for leaving will take some paragraphs to explain, but in a nutshell I was with TSB until I just was so upset with the handling that had to be done with the various personalities and concepts like security culture or priviledge, that I just shut down rather than tread the path of eggshells.  

TSB’s first home in Nacogdoches was a Nature Center.  It is a work in progress, although always ready for visitors.  Diane, the owner, who also goes by the handle Temperence,  is a small and verbose woman who is always ready to share stories about the building of the center, the trials and tribulations of trying to protect the land  and her time at Rainbow Gatherings.  With several founding members the place  is expression of sustainable farming and energy systems. The basic ideals here are self-sufficiency and environmental resposibility.    

 The center itself is a bit patchwork, everything built is about ninety percent “throw away” items. The road is covered  in places by old blankets and sheets. There are metal poles that mark plants of interest, some surrounded by bits of mesh to protect the rarer and prettier species.  Large #10 cans with both ends removed and filled with dirt line the raised beds of the garden.  There are four solar panels affixed to a rotating board, that rests on stacks of cinderblocks. Each pile representing a different time of day. The main building is hexagonal built with the wood given to the center by the church at the end of the road.  

It is all been a bit of an experiment really.  Some things worked, and some things haven’t quite but here I am in deep east Texas.  I have walked, ridden, fought, and healed.  Now I call this place home base, and I am working very hard to make it better.  Some people like to make money, I’d rather use what I have to do and make the things I want.  Society, as it is, makes me want to walk away, at least I’ve found a refuge for now.    

